Of what use is knowledge without passion?

Of what use is knowledge without passion? Time and time again I have asked myself that question. This is a rhetorical question since its pretty obvious the answer. Having knowledge without passion is like having food without fire to prepare it with. It will never get ready, it will stay the same or worse, it will go bad!

God has invested so much of himself in us that it’s criminal of us to live lives that are passive when it comes to heavenly things. There’s a kind that will have a certain knowledge of the scriptures and lack the experience. I don’t want to be that kind. Sadly we have many of that kind in the church and I sometimes fall prey. (I dare say they are the majority!) I have seen Christians who are convinced that God hasn’t given us power to restore lost limbs(creative miracles). I have seen Christians who don’t believe that the dead can come back to life. What went wrong?

I have learnt something interesting under the sun and it has brought me to the conclusion that Knowledge that is not driven by passion is very limited or worse, it’s not knowledge at all. The Christian has been built with a strong desire for the super natural, but sometimes we are so caught up in the worldly that this passion or desire is suppressed.

The moment we are born again, God deposits His fire in us. This fire should never go out. It should be nurtured to blaze more and more. I believe that if we are to be effective as Christians, our passion or fire for God needs to grow more and more.

This is a sad reality..
Revelation 3:15 ….. You’re not cold, you’re not hot–far better to be either cold or hot!

Dear Lord, I don’t desire to be Lukewarm and neither do I want to be cold! I want to be hot.
But as I write these words, the Spirit of God says to me, “You can’t walk in union with the Christ and you stay cold or lukewarm. He is a consuming fire.”
This is my hope

God has invested so much of himself in us that it’s criminal of us to live lives that are passive when it comes to heavenly things.

S.P.Allan

Leave a comment