Can God forgive the devil if he repents?

There is a question I have heard time and time again when listening to Christian talk shows. And the question usually goes like this; “Would God forgive the devil if he repented?” As much as this question may sound funny, am certain that many do not have an absolute answer. But let us examine what the scriptures teach us on this matter.
A part from saying that that is impossible for the devil to repent because of his pride, what if the barrier of pride was taken away? I believe that the answer lies somewhere in these scriptures

2 Peter 2:4  “..God spared not the angels that sinned, but cast them down to hell, and delivered them into chains of darkness, to be reserved unto judgment;”

Jude 1:6 “And the angels who did not keep their positions of authority but abandoned their proper dwelling–these he has kept in darkness, bound with everlasting chains for judgment on the great Day.”

One thing you have to realize is that when Jesus shed His blood on the cross, He did it for you! Not the angelic. Do you see how important and valuable you are before God? That He, Jesus could give you something that He did not give to the angels that sinned! Come to think of it, time and time again we transgress yet Jesus keeps drawing us in. How many times have we lived in disobedience yet God has not cast us out even for a single moment. But Lucifer and his cohorts disobeyed once not twice and they were forever cast into everlasting damnation awaiting their judgement.

I honestly cannot put my mind around to understand what God sees in us that he did not see in the angelic beings. God has poured out his love so graciously upon us and he has called us his own. So you may be in a place of uncertainty trying to figure things out. Know this today, that God considers you worthy of the kingdom even when you feel like the least. These are things so wonderful for me that like Psalmist I exclaim.

“You have enclosed me behind and before, And laid Your hand upon me. Such knowledge is too wonderful for me; It is too high, I cannot attain to it. Where can I go from Your Spirit? Or where can I flee from Your presence?”

Random thoughts: Valued

S.P.Allan

Leave a comment